A little background

So here’s the story.

I’m 53 years old, have had two careers, as a radio newsman and a software engineer.  I’m successful, well paid, live in a place I like and have the time to travel regularly while putting away enough money in my 401K to think I’ll be able to retire at some point and continue to live comfortably.

Why mess it all up?

When I figure it out, I”ll let you know.  For now, I blame it on JFK.  You see, he called everyone of my generation to public service, and back in the 60’s, I told myself that at some time I was going to do it.  About a year ago I realized two things — I was running out of time, and the challenges in my present job weren’t keeping me happy.  Life is too short not to be happy.

So I’m working on joining the Foreign Service.  I’ve completed the written and orals, and am waiting for my security and medical clearances to come through to go on the Register.  Meantime, I’ve been reading lots of FSO blogs, and considering the life changes joining the Foreign Service will entail.

It’s exciting.  And life should be exciting.

2 Comments

Filed under Foreign Service Stuff

2 responses to “A little background

  1. Good luck with your efforts to join the FS. Please let me know if you get in so I can add you to my blogroll of FS blogs at htt://lifeafterjerusalem.blogspot.com

  2. rkolker

    I read your blog, and will keep you (and everyone) informed as I pass through the process.

Leave a Reply

