Don’t be 50 (Part 3)

No food today (well, except for some lime Jello).  That’s all part of the preparation for my colonoscopy tomorrow requested by State as part of my medical clearance.  I need to get everything out of my colon so it will be nice and clean for them to stick a camera in.  That means nothing but clear liquids today (chicken broth, water, apple juice and the aforementioned lime Jello) until this evening, then a charming concoction which they tell me will finish the job (don’t get too far from the toilet!)

I know, too much information.

There’s an old joke about musicians.  “I suffered for my music.  Now it’s your turn.”

On a lighter note — here’s a photo.

Cairo

6 Comments

Filed under Foreign Service Stuff

6 responses to “Don’t be 50 (Part 3)

  1. Robert

    Rich…I dont have much communications with him anymore…but please pass along to Phil in Iowa, a mutual friend that our hearts are with him in the flooding situation. Robert

  2. Rich~
    Saw your message to Phil over at BFA and thought I would check out your site.

    Not to worry about your upcoming colonoscopy… been there, done that. :o)
    Karen

  3. Hannah is on word-press, too, Rich. I don’t permit comments because editing them was too much of a nuissance.

  4. cHeRyL!

    Just changing the diet for a day doesn’t clean most people out. Are they giving you any type of laxative too? Or is that what is meant by “a charming concoction” lol?

    They have these pills now that you swallow with cameras inside that are supposed to be better at seeing the full extent of the colon than the traditional probe. Of course, most insurance doesn’t pay for it but in my case it is all out of pocket anyway.

    Well, good luck and make sure to tell us how it went…well, if there are gory details you can skip those, lol.

    A young woman in her early 30s I worked with a few years ago had colon cancer. They caught it early. Diet and environment have a lot to do with it even though we don’t hear much about that. Well, I guess we do hear more now than years ago. I read medical journals as a hobby so I usually find out about stuff several years before the MSM broadcasts it. It has been 10 years now and she has been fine.

  5. Robert

    What if they sent me to Iraq? Would you go?

    That would be the question if I were interviewing people for any job in the government I would ask…

    would you go?

    Almost every Marine and most of the USN folks in Iraq are volunteers…MOST of the professional staff of the State Dept are volunteers… the question I would ask is why isnt everyone volunteering to go?

    It is a question…I am sitting here dolled out on pain killers after a few good episodes of walking out in the base…

    And to talk about this later…the senior surgeon has just given me something to “rest”…

    why would most of the armed forces who are engaged in ground combat (where one can really die) volunteer and yet the rest of the government doesnt?

    more later

    Robert

  6. rkolker

    All of the career State Department staff in Iraq and Afghanistan currently are volunteers, as they always have been. There was pushback last year on what is called “directed assignments”, but it ended up none were necessary.

    There is a difference between the job of the military and others in government. In almost all cases, if there is active combat going on in a country, all but a skeleton staff is evacuated from the embassy, sometimes in a big hurry. All foreign service officers are available worldwide, and take that obligation seriously and freely. We have diplomats almost everywhere, no matter how primitive or dangerous the location. But diplomats are not soldiers (or sailors, airmen or Marines). The job is different, and the prerequisites for doing it different. Diplomacy, at least “in country” comes after the shooting. In a situation without clear fronts, I understand a reluctance to serve under fire. Nevertheless, the foreign service has always found volunteers to do so.

Leave a Reply

