Ask not…

I can recite large parts of JFK’s inaugural address from memory (I can also recite the theme from Gilligan’s Island…I’m eclectic).  My earliest political memory is seeing JFK the day before election day 1960, in a motorcade through Merrick, NY (home of Ben and Jerry — I don’t know if they were there too).

The early 1960’s were a time when young people were motivated to public service as a noble calling.  It was the era of the foundation of the Peace Corps and dozens of non-profit volunteer agencies that survive to this day.

I was too young to be part of that.  But as I grew, I always planned that at some point I would enter public service.  First I though right after high school, then after college, then…well I procrastinated.  But I didn’t forget.

In the book “Generations” the author proposes that the baby boomers will make their greatest contribution during their later years.  We are a “cohort” that parallels with FDR’s. (Read the book if you’re interested to learn more about this theory of rotating cohorts with similar characteristics).  So, waiting for my 50’s may mean I’m right on schedule.  I know this.  I’ve gone from looking for when I can retire, to how long I can continue.

Now the trumpet summons us again…a struggle against the common enemies of man: tyranny, poverty, disease, and war itself. Can we forge against these enemies a grand and global alliance, North and South, East and West, that can assure a more fruitful life for all mankind? Will you join in that historic effort?…The energy, the faith, the devotion which we bring to this endeavor will light our country and all who serve it—and the glow from that fire can truly light the world.

p.s. Blood pressure is better, not all the way yet.  We look again next week

1 Comment

Filed under Foreign Service Stuff

One response to “Ask not…

  1. Robert

    good on the BP

    can hardly wait until my boss returns…I hate his job

    Robert

Leave a Reply

