Canyons and Arches

I’m continuing my “vacation while I can” tour of the US, blogging this morning from Cooperstown, NY.  All the photos of my trip around the Southwest are up at http://rkolker.com/gallery (go to the second page to find them).  The pictures don’t do the canyons justice, and my words certainly don’t.  Here’s a California Condor circling the Grand Canyon.

Condor over the Canyon

Condor over the Canyon

If you’ve never been to the Grand Canyon, Bryce and Zion, plan to do so some time.

I was on my way to Arches National Park, reading a local newspaper when I discovered one of the arches had fallen overnight.  Apparently this is not unheard of.  When I got to the park, the film they showed had video of part of an arch coming off.  It shows even natural wonders made of stone are temporary.

10 days to A-100.

Leave a comment

Filed under Foreign Service Stuff, Travel

Leave a Reply

