Sworn In

Today (Halloween) my fellow members of the 141st and I were formally sworn in as Foreign Service Officers by the Deputy Secretary of State.  Actually, we had been sworn in our first day of class, since it’s required to get paid, but this is still a right of passage for all Foreign Service Officers.

Monday, everything changes!  Well not really.  I have 10 more months (minus 10 days) of classes in French, Africa, Consular Affairs, Management, Emergency Medicine, Security and everything else I’ll need.  I’ll be just about the last member of my class to actually go to post.  The first will be leaving in December.

Along with my training, I’ll be helping out guiding the 143rd, much as the 139th helped us.

For photos of the swearing in, check out some of the blogs I have linked, who are better at remembering cameras than I am.  So, here’s a photo of Cotonou.

Leave a comment

Filed under Foreign Service Stuff

Leave a Reply

