Welcome Secretary of State Clinton!

As of a few hours ago I have a new boss.  Welcome aboard Madame Secretary!

Secretary Clinton Takes the Oath

Secretary Clinton Takes the Oath

I do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same; that I take this obligation freely, without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion; and that I will well and faithfully discharge the duties of the office on which I am about to enter.

4 Comments

Filed under Foreign Service Stuff

4 responses to “Welcome Secretary of State Clinton!

  1. Hi there. Long time lurker, first time poster. Just wanted to say I’ve enjoyed following your way through A100. In December I passed the FSOT for the second time and now waiting to her back from the QEP results in hopes of making it to the FSOA again. (I made it to Orals last year but was unsuccessful). Any advice for the orals? The CM was my biggest weakness. Nobody in my group passed the CM, even the successful folks!

    • rkolker

      CM..I guess that’s the memo (funny how the acronyms go away).

      Practice, practice, practice. My background was as a journalist, writing news on a deadline, but it was still a challenge to put everything together in a short time. For your practices, give yourself a shorter deadline than the oa. You’ll want the extra time to review anyway.

      Maybe pick a subject (say, Obama) and take a copy of a major newspaper and use everything you can find as the basis for writing the memo. This will combine the digging and the synthesis of the memo.

      Also, be ready for some (minor) math and be sure to include the results if you can. They put it in there for a reason.

      Remember structure — Intro, major and minor points, and finally conclusion. Some people go straight to writing the beginning and end and then fill in the middle. I didn’t do that, but I did put the format stuff on the page before I began reviewing the material.

      Hope that helps.

  2. Tracey

    Is this where we can reach you now please?

Leave a Reply

