“Have you had a heart attack yet?”

Every four weeks (or so) we change teachers in French.  My new teacher this week was a revelation (the quote in the title is from one of his former students).  He works us very hard, and very fast, and I came within a lucky encounter in the hallway of requesting a change.  But after a week, even though it’s still a struggle, I realize I’ve learned a lot this week about French I didn’t know before (mostly about direct and indirect object pronouns).  I’m studying harder and longer, and talking to myself on the trips to and from FSI to get ready for the test (no time soon, but speaking off the cuff is my weakness).

The learning consultant calls it “automatisation”, which is a hard word in English: taking speaking a language from a conscious to an unconscious state.

2 Comments

Filed under Foreign Service Stuff

2 responses to ““Have you had a heart attack yet?”

  1. How many more weeks of French do you have left?

Leave a Reply

