When I was a little kid…

…I wanted to be an astronaut. OK, I still do! But it’s not going to happen, short of Virgin Galactic and winning the lottery.

Along the way, I have done everything I could to get the astronaut experience.  I’ve flown on weightless aircraft in the US and Russia, visited the shuttle on the pad, flown simulators at NASA and helped design and prototype programs for Space Camp.

These photos have turned up as I poked around the web.  They are all from roughly 1989-90.

On the Vomit Comet, 1989.

My crew at the 1990 Space Academy prototype session we helped design.

Our crew patch.  The manufacturer left the clouds off the Earth.  We hand painted them on, but didn’t get to this patch.

Leave a comment

Filed under Foreign Service Stuff

Leave a Reply

