Choices

Here’s the question.  I need to drown my disappointment in U.S.’s loss to Ghana by eating large amounts of food.  Here are my choices:

Choice 1:

A view of some of what is headed to Benin in my consumable shipment. I've seen a lot bigger piles.

This arrived Friday night here in Cotonou and got unpacked Saturday morning.

Top pic courtesy Autostitch, which put together the four frames it took to take it all in.  Bottom pic is the mess left to clean up.

Choice 2:

Vegetarian Beninese food.

Okay, here’s the story.  A group of friends of mine here have started a food exploration group.  Each month we go to a different restaurant we haven’t tried before.  Last month was a seafood place on the water I really wanted to try.  I missed that one.  This month is…well…vegetarian Beninese food.  I have nothing against vegetables.  I eat salad most every day, and there’s a large stash of salad dressings in that consumables pile.  But I’m an omnivore, and there is some really good stuff in that pile.  Still, there is the social aspect of all this.  And we’re doing lunch, so the pile in the pantry is still available for supper, as is one of the steaks that followed me back from the US.  OK, do both!

I’m beginning to really like Windows 7.  I’m sure there are bad things about it, but I’m enjoying playing with it.  One of the things I’m enjoying are the gadgets.  These are little applications you put on your desktop.  Here’s my current stash.

Time – Home, Cotonou and UTC/GMT

Weather – Home and Cotonou

Performance – CPU and Network usage

Search – Google

Money – The current exchange rate (Euros because I haven’t found one yet for CFA, but the CFA is tied to the Euro at a fixed rate)

Radio – I can listen to XM

In the past, I had a stock market tracker  and news headlines, but I found I didn’t look at them very much.

My fun recipe for the week is for the world’s easiest peach cobbler.  It’s at http://allrecipes.com//Recipe/easy-peach-cobbler-2/Detail.aspx

Bake for an hour if you want the crust to brown, and I added a little cinnamon to the peaches and didn’t include all the syrup.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup self-rising flour
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 (15 ounce) can peaches

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. In a one-quart baking dish or 9 inch square pan, cream together sugar and butter. Mix in flour and milk until smooth. Pour peaches and their juice over the top.
  3. Bake 25 to 30 minutes in the preheated oven, until golden brown.

1 Comment

Filed under Foreign Service Stuff

One response to “Choices

  1. rkolker

    First comment is mine.

    Beninese vegetarian food, at least at this one place, is quite good! I will definitely be going back.

    Just not tonight when I dip into the consumables🙂.

Leave a Reply

