More from Pendjari

Here’s some more video from my trip to Pendjari National Park in northern Benin. First, the hippopotamus I wanted for Christmas…

And finally (for now. I have more animal footage to process) proof that it can cool down in Benin (yeah, it shocked me too!). Normally, this place is “Africa hot”, but it got downright pleasant at night in Pendjari!

I want to take a little time to put together a video of the whole trip, then I’ll post some more clips.

A few things I learned on the trip:

  • Bring a loaf of bread and PB&J. You can get hungry along the way and there’s no McDonalds.
  • Proximity to a city doesn’t infer better roads. Some of the best were in the middle of nowhere.
  • One of the strongest shortwave stations in the area broadcasts in Spanish
  • There are lots and lots of varieties of antelope
  • Animals do come out in the noonday sun (not just mad dogs and Englishmen)
  • Borders in remote parts of Africa are a joke. I could have waded into Burkina Faso. (I’ve got video of that I’ll post later).

1 Comment

Filed under Foreign Service Stuff

One response to “More from Pendjari

  1. It is time for the Weekly State Department Blog Round Up and you are on it!

    It is found here:
    http://smallbitsfs.blogspot.com/2011/01/part-1-new-stuff-and-100-or-so-blog.html

    If you would like the links to your site removed (or corrections are needed) please contact me. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

