A nine hour drive…

…if I did it straight through, which I didn’t because I hadn’t warned anyone I was coming, and didn’t want to be sneaking into the House at 2am, but with the three day Victoria Day weekend I decided to go home and see family.  Ottawa to Annapolis is about nine hours, but I stopped once for dinner (and gas) and then at about 11pm to spend the night in a cheap hotel and avoid the 2am wakeup for my unsuspecting mother.

Plans are to leave around lunchtime Monday and be back in Ottawa by 10 pm (with a meal and gas stop).

Thanks to President Eisenhower for the Interstate Highway System, an fine example of the good use of government funds to provide infrastructure for the good of the economy and our way of life.

7 Comments

Filed under Foreign Service Stuff

7 responses to “A nine hour drive…

  1. What I wouldn’t give to be able to do a surprise weekend trip home. We get the bid list Friday. If there are any Canada jobs with timing that works, you will definitely be hearing from us. =)

  2. rkolker

    There is something to be said for being this close to home, and I’m taking advantage of it, but it’s also less communitarian than a small post like Cotonou. I miss the weekends at the payotte and the breakfast pot lucks and the happy hours at Livingstones.

    • Alesea D.

      I did an internship at US Embassy Rabat a few years ago and as much as I enjoyed my time there, when it was time to leave, I was soooooo ready. But, now I miss couscous Fridays, the wonderful local staff and FSOs as well as the country itself. I guess appreciating every moment is the lesson learned here😉

  3. Alesea D.

    I read your entire blog in 4 hours!!! Fascinating stuff! I can’t wait to hear more about your journey in the service. Hopefully, one day I will be one of your co-workers. Good luck in Canada!

  4. John Sass, aka "hujo"

    Rich

    There is a small group of BFA alums continuing to comment on the current state of the union and the world., by email. Your perspective would be very welcome. If you’re interested just send me an email at jhsass@hay.net. I was “hujo” on BFA

Leave a Reply

